Gorakhpur Lok Sabha byelections: Yogi Adityanath on the back foot as SP takes big lead

Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath is facing a serious challenge on his home turf Gorakhpur. The byelections for the Gorakhpur Lok Sabha Assembly seat is turning out to be in Samajwadi Party’s favour. After seven rounds of counting, SP candidate Pravin Kumar Nishad is leading by 9,446 votes against his nearest rival and BJP candidate Upendra Dutt Shukla.

The tension and the importance of the elections can be understood from the fact that Gorakhpur District Magistrate Rajeev Rautela is himself present at the counting centre to monitor the proceedings and to maintain law and order. He confirmed that after the fifth round of voting, the SP candidate has 74,077 votes in his kitty while the BJP has 70,317 votes.
A five-time Lok Sabha member from the seat, Yogi Adityanath had won from the seat in the last five consecutive elections with a massive margin. In 2014, Adityanath won by a margin of 3,12,783 votes while in 2009 his victory margin was 2,20,271 votes.
Meanwhile, the Samajwadi Party has filed a complaint with the Election Commission alleging that media is being denied entry at the counting centre in Gorakhpur. The issue even led to an uproar in the Uttar Pradesh Assembly due to which the House had to be adjourned for 10 minutes. The issue was raised by SP’s Ram Govind Chaudhary in the House.
However, the DM denied any such allegations and said that the information is being provided after every round of counting. “Counting of votes is underway. When ARO sends counting figures of any round from the 5 assembly constituencies, it is scrutinised by the RO and two observers scrutinise the counting figures manually and digitally and then sign it. This process takes time,” Rautela said.
The BJP is also trailing in Phulpur. Samajwadi Party candidate Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel is leading in Phulpur.
The bypolls in UP were necessitated after Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leaders Yogi Adityanath and Keshav Prasad Maurya were elevated as Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister and Deputy Chief Minister respectively after the party’s victory in state Assembly elections.

Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.
Categories : All